Scotland: The Metropolitan bits

In spite of my enthusiasm for the Scottish countryside, our Easter holiday began in Edinburgh. And much to Chad’s dismay, we spent less than 24 hours there.

Since he’d visited last May, he knew exactly how lovely the city is and wanted me to see it as well. However, I was anxious to get out of the city and away from all the people, plus I reasoned that it would be far easier to fly back to Edinburgh for the weekend than to Skye. In reality though, I think the chances of me going to Scotland and not planning an escape to the coast are slim. But don’t tell him that.

But back to Edinburgh. Beautiful city. There’s a great castle, a beautiful estate for the queen, hiking nearby at Arthur’s Seat, cemeteries full of ancient headstones and meticulously maintained parks. Not to mention the whole “new” side of the city and the waterfront area that we didn’t even see. It has history, great food, amazing (and free!) museums and the city center is easily walkable.

Thus, upon arrival I was allowed 10 minutes to change clothes in the hotel and then we walked. And walked. And walked. And in the next five hours saw everything mentioned above plus took a “literary pub tour” and learned a bit about the literary history of Scotland.

It was a bit of a whirlwind but overall, quite fun. And yes, I would love to return and see a bit more, at a bit more leisurely pace. Just as long as it was a stopover enroute to the west coast…

  (At The Queen's Gallery)

         

2 thoughts on “Scotland: The Metropolitan bits

Leave a comment